Georgia, Tennessee join Florida, North Carolina on New York, New Jersey’s required coronavirus self-quarantine list

The list of travel restricted states has grown for New York, New Jersey and Connecticut.

New Jersey Gov. Phil Murphy announced eight states have been added to the list that requires travelers to and from those areas to self-quarantine for two weeks, The Associated Press reported.

The states added Tuesday include:

  • California
  • Georgia
  • Iowa
  • Idaho
  • Louisiana
  • Mississippi
  • Nevada
  • Tennessee

They join Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, Florida, North Carolina, South Carolina, Texas and Utah, which were announced last week.

Murphy suggested if people do travel to New Jersey to get tested for COVID-19.

Click here for more guidance from New Jersey officials.

Washington had been on the list originally but was dropped, reported.

The quarantine criteria includes states with a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents or a state with a 10% or higher positive rate for seven days, according to

This isn’t the first move by Murphy to lessen the threat of the coronavirus. On Monday, he banned drinking and smoking at casinos in Atlantic City. They’re scheduled to reopen Thursday but with limited capacity, the AP reported.

Since the pandemic started, 13,181 people have died from coronavirus in New Jersey. Forty-seven of the deaths were reported Tuesday. More than 171,000 have tested positive in the state.

New York has taken the quarantine a step further, saying those who violate it could face a $1,000 fine. Murphy is using the same list as the Empire State for public awareness and said the execution of the list is up to the state, reported.

mobile apps

Everything you love about and more! Tap on any of the buttons below to download our app.

amazon alexa

Enable our Skill today to listen live at home on your Alexa Devices!